Film News

Cast Revealed For James Cameron’s Failed “Spider-Man”

Way back in the ’90s, James Cameron, director of the likes of The Terminator, AliensT2 and Avatar, was working on a Spider-Man film. The film ended up falling apart, largely, according to Cameron, down to technology not being able to do what he wanted to do with his proposed flick. Well, in what may be old news for some, I’ve just come across the cast that Cameron had lined up for the film. Check it out:

Ed Furlong as Peter Parker/Spider-Man

little-odessa-1994-06-g

Lance Henriksen as Norman Osborn/Green Goblin

lance-lance-henriksen-27248459-1152-640

Leonardo DiCaprio as Harry Osborn

Young Leonardo DiCaprio

Drew Barrymore as Gwen Stacy

Drew-Barrymore-Celebrity-Desktop-Wallpaper

Nikki Cox as Mary Jane Watson

Nikki-Cox-7

 

R. Lee Ermey as J. Jonah Jameson

r-lee-ermey-fired-by-geico-for-criticizing-obama

 

As mentioned, the film never came to be. The apparent plot was to centre on the death of Gwen Stacy at the hands of the Green Goblin – something that we may just see over the next few years. In terms of casting, I’m a huge fan of Ed Furlong, although it’s sadly hard to ever imagine him as Spider-Man after how he’s gotten over the last few years. Still, who knows what he’d have been able to do with the role back when he was relatively clean and sane. I’m absolutely loving the idea of Lance Henriksen as Norman, and R. Lee Ermey as JJJ. Fantastic casting. And, as much as I adore Drew Barrymore, I’m not sure I can see her as Gwen. That said, the picture that I found (above) has actually started to sway me that she could have looked the part.

Like I said, this shit is new to me, and I’m not sure how long it’s been online. Just thought I’d share the love.

 

2 thoughts on “Cast Revealed For James Cameron’s Failed “Spider-Man”

Leave a Reply

