Film News

Zoe Saldana And Michael Rooker Talk “Guardians Of The Galaxy”

With James Gunn’s Guardians of the Galaxy having now wrapped principal filming, two of the film’s stars, Zoe Saldana and Michael Rooker, have been speaking to MTV and Total Film about Marvel’s space adventure.

zoe-saldana-gamora

Chatting to MTV, Saldana described the film as “a new way to view superheroes. I mean, I love sometimes the consistency of what the classics have left behind, but I need innovation, and you can only have so much of ‘I’ll save you!’ After a while it’s, like, ‘Oh God, does he go to the bathroom? Is he hungry? Does he cry? Does he feel?’ Not only do we cover that, we’re making heroes after thieves, and they’re Robin Hoods, and I love that because I’m an underdog.

She added, “I always like the longer route, the hardest route, because that’s the only one that’s going to teach you great lessons in life. And these characters are absolutely amazing and they have a full-blown redemption. So, to be able to sink your teeth into such meaty characters and to be a part of such a story, that is very unique and obviously has everything that I love: it has space, it has a cooky director, it literally has just cojones. It has amazing actors that you would have never thought to put them all together and somehow we’re all here, giving 150% and loving the story that we’re doing.”

Playing Gamora in the film, Saldana continued, It’s gonna be very good – I hope. I never like to shoot myself in the foot, to see that confident that I may come across as arrogant, but I’m rooting for it a great deal because it was amazing. What we shot and we left on the screen, there were pretty amazing things and I have a feeling that James [Gunn] is going to capture them very beautifully. I’m happy to have worked with someone like James, because not every day do you meet somebody that is absolutely who they are and you cannot compare them to anybody else. There’s only going to be one James Gunn, and I like that.”

Michael Rooker on set as Yondu

As for The Rook, he was chatting to Total Film about his character Yondu. “There’s hope in this character,” he said, “but the stuff going on… I can’t talk about it but… it’s challenging. You have to forget that you have all these issues like three hour make-up and stuff. Once you get that stuff on, you have your own down time. You forget you have it on. You just play the role and you have great time doing it.”

When pushed on Yondu’s powers or abilities, Rooker replied, “I don’t think I’m at liberty to discuss any powers of any sort. Y’know, most of the roles I play, just by it being who I am, normally they’re somewhat formidable individuals. That’s just sort of my look and my build. So we utilise that in almost everything I’ve done, and it’s the same in Guardians.”

In Marvel’s space opera, we have Chris Pratt as Peter Quill/Star-Lord, Dave Bautista as Drax, Zoe Saldana as Gamora, Vin Diesel doing motion capture and voice work for Groot, and Bradley Cooper voicing Rocket Raccoon. Making up the cast of Gunn’s film are the likes of Michael Rooker, Benicio del Toro, Lee Pace, Karen Gillan, Djimon Hounsou, John C. Reilly, Gregg Henry and Glenn Close.

Guardians of the Galaxy is set for a 1st August, 2014 release.

 

6 thoughts on “Zoe Saldana And Michael Rooker Talk “Guardians Of The Galaxy”

Leave a Reply

