The Reviews

Blu-Ray Review: Man Of Steel

Man of Steel

Review: Man of Steel / Cert: 12 / Director: Zack Snyder / Screenplay: David Goyer / Starring: Henry Cavill, Michael Shannon, Amy Adams, Russell Crowe, Kevin Costner / Release Date: 2nd December

Now available for your home viewing pleasure, Zack Snyder’s Man of Steel tale looks to reenergise Warner Brothers’ seemingly dead Superman franchise. With no ties to any of the Superman films of yesteryear, Snyder’s movie acts as fresh introduction to the last son of Krypton.

Yes, you may have heard the basic story of Superman at various times in various formats over the years, but this latest effort looks to attack things from a different angle. Before we even get to the space adventure of the baby Kal-El heading for the fields of Smallville, we’re given a fantastically magical and mystical look at Krypton. With Jor-El (Russell Crowe) engaged in battle with General Zod (Michael Shannon), the patriarch of the family El is trying to give his son a future away from the imploding Krypton. Action-packed and stunningly-beautiful, and that’s before we even get to the meat of story.

For the full review, be sure to head over to Starburst Magazine.

 

Also, pick up your copy of Superman’s latest cinematic adventure at one of the links below:


Man of Steel [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free]

Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy]

9 thoughts on “Blu-Ray Review: Man Of Steel

  1. A fine review for a great movie. Antje Traue’s Faora is incredible in this film. I had never heard of Faora before Man of Steel and now I feel like she needs just a tiny bit more attention in the comics too. Hopefully she returns in another Superman film

    Like

    • Glad you approve, sir. Really enjoyed the movie, although certain points (Clark & Lois, the destruction of Metropolis) irked me a tad. Still, a great film in lots of other ways, and it looks stunning on Blu-ray.

      Like

  2. I had to have this blu ray! Looks incredible. Unfortunately, I didn’t care for the film as much as you did. It had some great imagery and I liked the prologue very much. Shannon and Crowe were amazing. Maybe a re-watch is warranted. Good write up!

    Like

    • I’m with you, Vic. As soon as I got out of the cinema, I said that I cannot wait for the Blu-ray to drop. It just looks stunning.

      I really loved lots of this film, but, as mentioned, certain points cannot be ignored.

      Like

  3. I adore Henry Cavill as Superman/Clark Kent. He really nailed that role. He is both the hero and the normal dude, plays both so well. Michael Shannon was again simply phenomenal to watch in here, and Hans Zimmer just blew everyone away with another astounding soundtrack. The thing that super-thrilled me about this film? The capes ❤ ❤ Great review!

    Like

  4. A well-crafted review. Henry Cavill is a (almost) perfect Superman. Zach Snyder’s work is superb and although Christopher Nolan part-produced this new vehicle, its encouraging to see that Snyder, as director, leaves his own personal stamp on the film with no traces of Nolan’s intrinsic story-telling. The action sequences between hero and foe were tiring and not easy on the eye (perhaps that’s just the point, everything happens at lightning superhuman speed.

    My overall impression (and rating) : *** (out of a possible six – visit my blog to see how I operate my ratings). Great blog! Hope to be visiting it soon.

    Like

    • Thanks for the comments and the blog love, sir. I’ll be sure to check out your blog later on when I get a chance – just having to rewrite a Walking Dead review after having some ‘technical issues.’

      And yeah, on the whole I really enjoyed Man of Steel and Cavill as Superman… it’s just the whole Lois thing and then the whole Metropolis thing. As for the Metropolis destruction, that could work well as a vehicle for Lex in the future. Luthor comes in as Metropolis’ white knight, rebuilding the city and pointing the finger at the alien threat of Superman. It all depends on what they decided to do, though.

      Like

      • Indeed. It won’t make a difference at this stage, but I reaally do think the Metro action could be slowed down somewhat (on the scale of Gotham City) for better dramatic effect. Thanks for reminding me of one flaw in Man of Steel: Lois Lane.

        I have yet to get going on Walking Dead (are we talking on the same show?) but am intrigued by the genre. I started a while back and folded owing to its slooooow pace. Nevertheless, I have return to the world of Zombies….do keep an eye out on my blog space for that.

        M

        Like

Leave a Reply

