Film News

Katee Sackhoff Wants Harley Quinn and “Star Wars”

Katee Sackhoff Harley Quinn

For years now, whenever people think of casting a cinematic Harley Quinn, Katee Sackhoff is a name that is championed. To further push these suggestions, Sackhoff herself has often talked about how she’d love to play The Joker’s main squeeze. Recently speaking to Total Film, she has again talked up Dr. Harleen Quinzel, not to mention Wonder Woman and Star Wars.

Sackhoff said, “I think I might give away my firstborn to have an opportunity to play Harley Quinn.”

The actress then discussed her audition for the lead role in the doomed Wonder Woman pilot. “I’d love to play Wonder Woman,” she said. “I remember auditioning for the Wonder Woman television show and being told that I wasn’t the Wonder Woman type, but if I wanted to play the best friend, I could audition for that. And I remember thinking to myself, ‘You obviously haven’t seen my work!'”

Sackhoff then concluded by putting herself out there for that Star Wars: Episode VII call, saying, “Star Wars meant everything to me growing up. Star Wars was, I mean, it was the first time I remember seeing three movies that all kind of went together. It was just an amazing final understanding of what a trilogy was… I was absolutely obsessed, I mean I wanted to be… The said thing is, I never wanted to be Princess Leia, I always wanted to be Han Solo! [laughs] I’ve never really been drawn to these female roles, but I think that The Clones Wars was so much fun for me to play, I mean a warrior… If J.J. would listen, I would play a rock in the Star Wars movies. I think that they’re fantastic, I think that he’s a great choice, and I’m excited to see what happens in that world.”

So, she’s talking the talk and saying all the right things. Will we ever see Harley Quinn on the big screen? Could Sackhoff join Episode VII? I guess only time will tell.

 

Leave a Reply

