Film News

Jason Momoa Turned Down Drax in “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Jason-Momoa

Remember when Jason Momoa was heavily-rumoured to be playing Drax the Destroyer in James Gunn’s Guardians of the Galaxy? Well it turns out that the Conan star was actually offered the role, but turned it down.

Explaining the situation to Zap2It, Momoa said, “It didn’t really fit in my time because I’ve done so many things where I don’t say much and I’m coloured up and I have my shirt off again. I made a conscious choice to turn down some movies that were action-based to direct Road to Paloma so people could see that side. I want my children to see their father happy.”

He added, “It’s not that it’s not a good role, it just wasn’t the right thing. I was on Stargate: Atlantis for four years playing a similar character called Ronon, who was an alien who didn’t say much and grunted. I’ve been there and done that, whether people have seen it or not. You want to stretch.”

Whilst he did turn down the gig, Momoa auditioned and described interacting with Chris Pratt as “one of the funnest things I’ve ever done in my life.”

The role of Drax would eventually go to Dave Bautista, who you can see when Guardians of the Galaxy is released on 1st August.

 

 

Leave a Reply

