Film News

“Ghostbusters 3” Shooting Early Next Year

reitman-ghostbusters-3

Ivan Reitman no longer directing

After the sad recent passing of Harold Ramis, reports suggested the the script for Ghosbuters 3 was having to undergo rewriters. Now, speaking to Deadline, Ivan Reitman has revealed that he is stepping down as the film’s director but that he will be assisting the studio in finding a new director for an early 2015 shoot.

Reitman revealed, “We now have a draft that is very good, that the studio is very excited about. It’s a version of Ghosbusters that has the originals in a very minor role. When I came back from Harold’s funeral, it was really moving and it made me think about a lot of things. I’d just finished directing Draft Day, which I’m really happy with and proud of. Working on a film that is smaller and more dramatic was so much fun and satisfying. I just finally met with Amy and Doug Belgrad when I got back. I said I’d been thinking about it for weeks, that I’d rather just produce this Ghosbusters. I told them I thought I could but help let’s find a really good director and make it with him. So that’s what we’ve agreed will happen.”

So the original cast seem set to return, although in small roles, looking to introduce new characters for future films. As for a director, who knows who’ll land that gig?!

Expect more on this as it develops.

 

2 thoughts on ““Ghostbusters 3” Shooting Early Next Year

Leave a Reply

