Film News

Dwayne Johnson Taking on DC Movie Role?

The Rock for Lobo?

The Rock for Lobo?

In recent years, Dwayne Johnson has been regularly linked to the roles of Black Adam, John Stewart and Lobo. Now, speaking at CinemaCon, the actor has been teasing what role he’s been discussing with DC.

The Rock said, “Like everyone here in the room, I love superheroes, and we’ve been having ongoing discussions, myself and DC, for years about the right character. What would the right character be? And that’s another thing, too. It just had to be right. I won’t tell you who it is, but I’ll tell you the three qualities we’re looking for and I’ll let you guys figure it out. This is going to be fun. Here are the three qualities…”

Johnson went on, “The first quality we were looking for is that he had to be extremely complex and have a lot going on, and what that does for me as an actor and for the studio just gives us space that we can explore for his complexities. The other quality is that the character we were looking for had to be well known but never brought to life. That does, again as an actor, is that it gives me a little bit of space and it just gives me a chance to put an imprint into his personality with the set of tools that I can bring to the table and put a very unique twist on his personality but still pay homage to who he is. The third thing, and most important, is that he had to be a badass motherfucker and on a Superman level of power where he could throw down.”

He added, “In those qualities, I’m happy we’ve found that character and right now we’re out to a lot of writers.”

So, let’s continue the speculation. Previous reports often linked Johnson to the roles of John Stewart, Black Adam or the badass Lobo. In fact, just to tease fans further, Johnston has since taken to Twitter to say, “Green Lantern (John Stewart) and Black Adam are my fav superheroes, but HL’s already been made and stamped. #RockTalk@CFitzy”

So, could Johnson be about to be cast? With writers being looked at, here’s hoping something gets confirmed soon. Whilst Black Adam seems to be the most logical fit, I’d love to see The Great One kicking ass as Lobo.

 

5 thoughts on “Dwayne Johnson Taking on DC Movie Role?

  1. I think Dwayne Johnson is great in action films, and when he looks like he does it’s surely only a matter of time before he plays a superhero.

    It was rumoured not so long ago that he could be playing Luke Cage in a film, but I suppose that would be out of the question if he was in a DC role.

    Like

    • Yeah, Cage was linked to him at one point, but that character is getting his own Netflix series, plus the DC thing like you mentioned. I’m leaning towards Lobo for him, myself.

      He’s not everyone’s favourite, but I think The Rock is great when in the right role.

      Like

      • I’m probably biased as I was a massive Rock fan in my early teens, but I really like him as long as he steers away from saccharine family comedies. We’ll have to just wait and see what happens. Unfortunately, these things tend to get put on the back burner for far too long these days.

        Like

Leave a Reply

