Film News

“The Amazing Spider-Man” Franchise in Trouble…

the_amazing_spider-man_2_20130527_2081432916

Now, I’m one of those people that try and see the good in even the worst of films, and I have a love for every single superhero movie out there. Thing is, despite (or likely because of) the fact that I’m a huge Spider-Man fan, I found The Amazing Spider-Man 2 to be one of the most disappointing movies in recent memory. Well it seems as if I wasn’t the only one with concerns and that the future of the franchise could well be in jeopardy.

First up, writer Roberto Orci, who was working on the script for The Amazing Spider-Man 3 with Alex Kurtzman, has left the film in order to focus on Star Trek 3. Secondly, Kurtzman is said to be focussing all of his effort on the Venom movie for the forseeable future. Speaking to IGN, Orci said, “I don’t know what their plans are for that franchise. I don’t ever want to say never, but we have to figure out what their scheduling is in terms of when they want each movie. I’ve read probably as much as anyone else. There’s a love for the Sinister Six, the idea of Venom – there’s an idea of Spider-Man’s going to be one of these characters that’s part of our business. He’s such a populer character. Spider-Man’s not going to go away any time soon. When it all happens and how and all that has yet to be determined.”

So it seems from Orci’s comments that The Sinister Six and Venom spin-offs may be the priorities at this stage rather than the actual The Amazing Spider-Man franchise. The problems with The Amazing Spider-Man 2 were plentiful and absolutely broke my heart. Spider-Man is my guy. Growing up, it was always Spider-Man for me. To see such a mess of a movie for such a beloved character was, quite frankly, like a kick in the nuts for me.

Regardless of my thoughts on the film, The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is set for a 19th August Blu-ray and DVD release. In the meantime, you can find my review of the film here and also download a digital magazine that focuses purely on the comic book history of Spider-Man for Starburst Magazine here.

 

4 thoughts on ““The Amazing Spider-Man” Franchise in Trouble…

  1. I’m with you. I thought Amazing Spider-Man 2 was a little bit of a disappointment. The scenes with Elektro were cool, but I don’t think I will be buying the Blu-ray.

    Like

  2. 😦 I hope they don’t pull the plug on these. I really like this reboot. Yes, two had issues but it wasn’t that bad (for me). Plus it had Dane DeHaan, who was a great Harry. I suppose we will just have to wait and see where this goes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

