Film News

Guillermo del Toro to Direct “Frankenstein”?

frankenstein

Following on from the news that Universal are still planning to move ahead with a shared universe for their classic monsters, Badass Digest is reporting that Guillermo del Toro could be in line to direct a Frankenstein redo. In fact, he’s already been offered the gig by the studio’s Donna Langley.

Del Toro himself revealed, “It’s the dream project so I’m a chicken shit. If I do Frankenstein, I literally would stop everything, and I’m going to a sabbatical of three years just to write that. It’s not something that’s gonna just flow, like second nature. It’s my favourite book in history. I would love to. Hopefully one day it coincides that Donna wants to it and I am not a chicken shit.”

He added that he also has an interest in the Creature from the Black Lagoon, saying, “I think that it’s a great universe to develop. I personally think they should all be period movies. I would love to see Creature from the Black Lagoon in Victorian England with the Victorian exploration, with a balloon and steam riverboats.”

So it doesn’t seem that a del Toro-helmed Frankenstein will happen soon, I can’t help but hope that this somehow comes together.

At the moment, Universal has The Mummy set for a 22nd April, 2016 release, with other classic horror features expected to follow.

 

3 thoughts on “Guillermo del Toro to Direct “Frankenstein”?

  1. I heard recently that when Del Toro originally turned in his treatment for the film, the studio liked it and so did, I’m assuming, the person you cited. I would LOVE to see his version. If they don’t have him write and direct the upcoming one, I’ll be devastated not to see his vision and Doug Jones as the monster. Plus, if they don’t let him do this version, it’s unlikely they’ll do another one anytime soon and Doug Jones will probably never get to do it and Guillermo will have to wait even longer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

